• STYLE /Darksynth, Chillwave
  • RELEASE DATE /October 11, 2019
  • LABEL /NewRetroWave Records
  • GUESTS /Power Glove, Morgan Willis, Tokyo Rose, Alex, Wice and more
  • DESIGNERS /Sam Todhunter
  • FORMAT /Digital, Vinyl, Cassette

RSW rating ➔

¦ 9/10 ¦
Fantastic LP

Our Few Words

Soundtracks are becoming more apparent as synthwave artists all collaborate to put together a collection of memorable tunes.

NewRetroWave released In Search Of Darkness which provide a modernised take on 80s horror music. We have previously seen this been successfully accomplished with cult classic publication Fangoria. Now Halloween will be even more terrifying with this collection of intense, fist pumping tracks.

The first track on the album is a vicious intense introduction from Elevate The Sky called Inside Out. The pounding base and organ melodies following on in Vendetta by Wice. TOYKO ROSE applies a club anthem to the track that surprisingly fits together nicely with the theme of the album with MANIAC. Morgan Willis gives us something with a Gremlins feel tonight with Raven Version #1 before kicking in with a sweet beat. Legends Power Glove gives us Playback vibes with their funky Phantasy. Alex brings the pace down with Horns which acts like a ballad. Hexekraft switches the album back into full gear with the energetic and hectic Archaic Purgamentum.

Danger Code Master by Waveshaper places numerous montage ideas in your head to keep that blood pumping. Midnight Danger keeps the eerily vicious sound with a taste of glam metal with Death Comes at Midnight.  Morgan Willis returns with Raven Version 2 that gives a more X-Files meets Kavinsky vibe to it. TurboVCR Feat. M3ga is vocals heavy and surprisingly doesn’t lose the effect the previous songs have created. Moonraccoon continues where Midnight Danger left off; Survive brilliantly creates this amazing Alice Cooper vibe. Josh Lim provides a chilling brief interlude as such before Kick Puncher deals a vicious blow to your speaker system with Midnight Escape Finale. Turbo Knight, Straplocked and Gryff offers what is an absolutely incredible power metal anthem with The Battle. L.U.S.T Murderer by Vilemoral offer a perfectly fitting outro to the soundtrack.

In Search Of Darkness is a ridiculously fiery soundtrack that really needs a movie to go along with it. It features some absolute powerhouse musicians and their songs make this an atmospheric masterpiece of sheer terror. The songs all link together perfectly despite different artists and that alone is one of the finest accomplishments we’ve ever witnessed on a soundtrack. In Search Of Darkness it not only a fitting tribute to 80s horror, but it’s an absolute masterpiece of professional originality.

– Matthew Clewley
Designed by SpaceMaster

Gold quote

« There’s a lot of neon and synthwave in this, and rightfully so. It just fits so well with the help of NewRetroWave… »

– savingcontent.com