• STYLE /Darksynth
  • RELEASE DATE /October 16, 2020
  • LABEL /Counter Records
  • FORMAT /Digital / Vinyl / Cassette

RSW rating ➔

¦ 9/10 ¦
Fantastic LP

Our Few Words

The Midnight seemed to have kept their Monsters at bay now with a surprise Amazon Music exclusive release called Horror Show. This EP seems to bring The Midnight back to its 80s fuelled roots to which Monsters ambitiously left. Whilst Monsters seems to have mixed opinions woth fans of the band and synthwave (though we did enjoy it) Horror Show seems to provide a much appealing theme and sound for those who anticipated Monsters to be like that.

Horror Show opens up with a very exciting Stranger Things sound that’s purely intense and leads straight into Ghost In The Stereo. This song perfectly follows transitions perfectly and its beautiful catchy showing similarities to the song Monsters, but with a much harder bass. Neon Medusa might be one of my favourite Midnight songs ever; this song screams Justice and is constantly entertaining especially when a sweet guitar solo tears up through the song. Devil Make A Deal is the most horror themed song on the EP with beautiful samples, excellent vocals and a good kick to it. Good In Red is remarkable lyrically and its catchy as hell with a great blend of horror and love. Because The Night is of course a Patti Smith cover and features long time collaborator Nikki Flores; in all honestly, besides the duel vocals and saxophone solo its a solid and similar sounding cover and is a fantastic tribute.

Horror Show is the best release since Endless Summer and that is no disrespect to their other tremendous releases. The horror theme, sounds and samples is a good sound for The Midnight. Each song is just a masterpiece and it shows why The Midnight deserves the following they have. Horror Show shows that 2020 can offer surprises that are good for once and it is a fantastic listen from start to finish.

– Matthew Clewley
Layout by Space Master