• STYLE /Chillwave, Darksynth, Outrun
  • RELEASE DATE /February 05, 2021
  • LABEL /Lazerdiscs Records
  • DESIGNER /Niky Nine
  • FORMAT /Digital

RSW rating ➔

¦ 8/10 ¦
Great EP

Our Few Words

Niky Nine is about to release an EP through Lazerdiscs Records on 5th February called Black Sharken. This veteran of the scene we embrace at Retro Synthwave is out to please those who have been patient on new material. Since our good old friend COVID19 hit the streets musicians have been busier than ever to get new music out. Niky Nine wants to hit the ground running with Black Sharken, but does it live up to the Niky Nine name?

Hydra is an incredibly intense introduction that is an absolute perfect start with its suspenseful atmosphere and plenty of layers of synth that all fits in place perfectly. The song Black Sharken is deliciously heavy and whilst long in length it does keep the progression consistently entertaining and going through different emotions. Warr (featuring 6S9) is ridiculously funky and sounds like Pendulum and The Prodigy have made a baby and produced this wonder kid of a song. Hollow Hawk is the chill out section of this EP blending together synthwave and industrial into a cocktail you wont stop drinking. Supercharged doesn’t change things as such, but it is such a good instrumental to mellow out too. Ozuwara Death concludes the EP in what we can describe as a victory anthem to seal the deal.

Niky Nine is just further evidence that electronic music in France is just untouchable and ages like a fine wine. The production is crystal clear and experimental in the first half of the EP whilst the second half is what you would expect from a synthwave release. All the songs have their own qualities and surprisingly go together well as the first half and second half of Black Sharken are not alike. Black Sharken is one of the best instrumental Eps we have listened to for a while; it will slap you awake and then rest you asleep.

– Matthew Clewley
Layout by Space Master