• STYLE /Dreamwave, Synthpop
  • RELEASE DATE /September 14, 2018
  • CATALOG /11TH5087
  • LABEL /11th Records
  • FORMAT /CD / Digital

RSW rating ➔

¦ 9/10 ¦
Fantastic LP

LP tracklist

Our Few Words

For his 10th album released with 11th Records, pianist and singer Brian Hazard – aka COLOR THEORY – has shifted closer to the peculiar world of Synthwave, a style that he seemed predestined for. The new LP is a mix of Synthpop and Dreamwave that features captivating vocals and magic melodies. It is immersive, ethereal and evocative. The album artwork – created by famous designer Sam Todhunter – beautifully blends all of Synthwave’s visual language. All nine tracks feature enthralling melodies and beautiful vocals. COLOR THEORY has found its voice indeed, through the elegant blending of electronica and 80s sonorities. Needless to say, “The Majesty of Our Broken Past” has won us over. From the very first note to the last, this beautiful LP takes us on an emotional journey. The tracks are deep and moving and the LP skillfully paints the happy/sad dichotomy of nostalgia. From the moment you push play, images start flooding your mind. Childhood memories, hard times, happy times, and even iconic 80s movies. COLOR THEORY’s foray into Synthwave has paid off in spades and leaves us begging for more.

Gold quote

The Majesty of Our Broken Past represents his first foray fully into synthwave, a genre that is generally more ’80s-inspired than ’80s.

– Vehlinggo